Niveditha Manokaran- I realised that the stigma associated with Sexual Health should be dismantled and the need to break the stereotypical ideas drew my interest more towards this field.

“Being born in a family of generations of well renowned surgeons, I often get asked “Why did you choose to become a Sexual Health Physician”?

Initially, I was hoping to become a plastic surgeon like my dad or a surgical oncologist like my mom and had a great interest in surgery. However, due to my dual interest in skin and beauty, I choose Dermatology and was planning to pursue Cosmetic Dermatology as my career.

Venereology (study of sexually transmitted diseases) was a part of dermatology training. I was fascinated by this tabooed field. I got to know how there are approximately 20 million new STD infections each year and how little we dare to speak about it. I realised that the stigma associated should be dismantled and the need to break the stereotypical ideas on this field of medicine drew my interest more to it.

Today, I practice in Sydney. I’m trained Physician in contraception and women’s health. The fascination to this field has drawn me towards working in this field for the last 11 years.

Having done my training in India, more than a decade ago, I had learnt that clinicians often hesitate to ask their clients about their sexual health, considering it to be a taboo subject in India. In India, it is difficult to ask any young, unmarried person who presents with a STI, whether he/she are sexually active or take a detailed sexual history without being judged or even crucified. I’m sure doctors get multiple opportunities to ask about sexual assault, safety and contraception and provide counselling, education and advice but these questions are seldom asked. It bothered me a lot as a young girl.

I’m hoping that one day I will be able to provide the same level of awareness and service to the country in which I was born. I’m waiting for that day and opportunity.” said Niveditha Manokaran

Leave a comment