To become a Saadhu means to leave behind all the material things of this world in pursuit of a higher life

‘As we were walking down the Ganges yesterday, I saw a man covered in white ash, with long dreads and many beaded necklaces. I had heard about the Aghori Sadhus but hadn’t really seen one and therefore, I was really curious. As I walked closer to him, I realised that he wasn’t an Indian man but a young white man with a California accent. He told us that he left his former life in California as a Computer Programmer to become a Saadhu (a religious ascetic) here in Varanasi. He has no personal belongings except the clothing on his back, a few blankets, and a chillum. To become a Saadhu means to leave behind all the material things of this world in pursuit of a higher life.’ said Olivia @ River Ganges , Varanasi

Leave a comment